Viewing Facebook Profile Scam
Who is Viewing Your Facebook Profile Scam
In all cases this app is a scam. There is no possible way for any app to provide information about who views your Facebook profile - Facebook does not permit it. The app is intended to steal personal information, hijack your Facebook account, or send you to a malicious website used by hackers.
The first time this 'Who is Viewing Your Facebook Profile Scam' was brought to my attention was on August 7 2011 after one of my connected friends posted a wall update complaining about this app that had appeared on her wall, and was being shared on her friends walls. The friend stated she had never subscribed to Who is Viewing Your Facebook Profile, nor had she shared it with anyone.
Facebook Scam App linked to 'pay to use' site
Invariably this scam app links to a Facebook page with horror stories claiming the Facebook user would be horrified to know who was viewing their Facebook profile, and has a link offering to provide an app that would track viewers. During the process of subscribing to the Who is Viewing Your Facebook Profile app, the common 'allow application to connect to your Facebook profile' box appeared. Agreeing to allow the app, it then claimed it could not connect while secure browsing (https) was enabled, and asked if you wanted to turn off secure browsing on a temporary basis. Reasonable request, or was it? We'll see!
Continuing from my testing page, the app then linked to a website where the claim was made that numerous people were viewing the Facebook profile. (Hmm, yes... A Facebook page with one friend, Me, with only a bare minimum of posts, an incomplete profile, and one I know has been viewed only a handful of times, mostly by myself I'm sure)
Then of course, 'the hook' To find out who these people viewing your Facebook page were, you needed to 'continue'. Well, so continue - redirected to a website, where the choice was offered. If you wanted to find out who these people viewing my Facebook profile were, you will need to either;
- Fill in an application form: First Name, Last Name-mail, cell phone number etc. Don't provide your cell number to anyone you don't know - (I already get too many spam phone calls), and an e-mail address.
- Or the other option; enter cell phone number to subscribe to a paid cell app subscription service. That was enough. I don't use any of these cell subscription services. What for? Who is viewing your Facebook Profile is a scam intended to con you into using their subscription service, to harvest cell numbers and e-mails for spamming. And the subscription service is also a scam - as there is no possible way to provide this information the offer is fraudulent, with the only purpose being to separate you from your money, find out your credit card or bank account information...
Who is viewing your Facebook profile violates Facebook TOC
This Who is Viewing Your Facebook Profile Scam, and any other app or website claiming to provide this information is a scam, or worse. Any of these applications violate Facebook's Terms and Conditions of use of Facebook apps. Click to read the TOC. A warning about this app was posted on GraphiclineWeb Tech Blog and shared on my Facebook Business Page, and in my friends groups.
The next morning, I had a look for this 'Who is Viewing Your Facebook Profile' app, and found the Facebook page no longer existed, and the website no longer available.
Facebook suspends this app as son as they become aware of another outbreak. If you do see any app of this type report it to Facebook Security.
"On Facebook, there’s no way to see who has visited your profile. We’ve also prevented others from providing this functionality. We’re working hard to block and remove websites, pages, and applications that claim to do this. If you see one, don’t be fooled, and report it to us immediately."
Similar apps have appeared on Facebook at intervals over the years. The app, one version of which is known as 'ePrivacy' dates back to at least November 2010.
There are numerous notifications on the 'net regarding this scam. Some versions of Who is Viewing Your Facebook Profile Scam have included a request to copy and paste this URL into your browser address box. BEWARE, This is not a link. It is active Java script Code. It will link to a website, but will run an active script from the page it directs to which will introduce a virus Trojan into your PC.
Who is Viewing Your Facebook Profile Scam is Back - Again:
I get the impression another instance has started doing the rounds again. Monitoring search engine terms leading to views on the blog post mentioned "Warning Who is Viewing Your Facebook Profile" shows that once again the scam is doing the rounds.
Beware of Who is Viewing Your Facebook Profile
Having some 750 Million users, Facebook must inevitably be targeted by Scam, Phishing, and other apps intending to introduce malware, spyware, and adware into users computer systems.
- If you see this app, DO NOT CLICK ON THE LINK!
- Be vigilant. If an app asks you to turn off your secure (https) connection, be wary: Rather take the time and effort to find out more about the app before allowing this connection.
- If you suspect an app is malicious, fraudulent, or otherwise violates Facebook TOC, report it to Facebook.
- Post a warning to your friends on Facebook, Twitter and any other social media you use.
The Internet can be a risky place. Every small bit we do to engender awareness of malicious and dangerous apps and sites helps to make the net a safer place, and reduces the gains these cyber-criminals enjoy
Originally published: 09/19/2011. Updated: 2012-04-23
Articles related to Who is Viewing Facebook Profile Scam:
Profile-spy image from www.net-security.org